Women's Health starts with research: The Howell Foundation congratulates CSUPERB Scholarship Award Winners!

Women's Health starts with research: The Howell Foundation congratulates CSUPERB Scholarship Award Winners!

Howell Scholars
2018 Board Co-Chair Kathleen Franklin with Susan Baxter, Executive Director CSUPERB
Pictured above: 2018 Howell Scholars with HowellCo-Chair Kathleen Franklin & CSUPERB Executive Director, Susan Baxter

Every year, during our first luncheon for the year, we ratify a partnership with CSUPERB that advances women’s health at its basic level –research; two great organizations aligned to provide opportunities for students to have access to careers in the biomedical research field.

“CSUPERB believes that the best way to engage, recruit and retain students in life science careers is to provide access to and opportunities in real-world biotechnology research settings. We know that these experiences are particularly effective at engaging and retaining students who are the first in their families to attend college or are from communities underrepresented in the life sciences. By working with CSU faculty in the classroom and on research problems, students build a solid foundation for successful life science careers”, comments Susan Baxter, Executive Director, CSUPERB, and liaison between Cal State and The Doris A. Howell Foundation.

“As we’ve seen, community organizations like the Howell Foundation are uniquely suited to recognize the importance of supporting young scientists, echoing Dr. Howell’s belief that the training of scientists needs to be the responsibility of the entire biomedical community,” Dr. Baxter explains.  “With support and leadership from the Howell Foundation, our faculty at San Diego State University have met Dr. Howell’s challenge.  The Howell Foundation support allows us to do this; providing high visibility example of ‘what works’ to campuses and departments across the Cal State system”, she concludes.

Find out more about the partnership between the Doris A. Howell Foundation and CSUPERB, and the impact it has on future women’s health professionals.

Congratulations to the 2018 Howell-CSUPERB Scholars!

Analine Aguayo (Biology, California State University, Northridge)
“Premetastatic Niche Cell Responses to Breast Cancer Cells.”
Mentor: Jonathan Kelber, Biology

Micah Feri (Biology and Physiology, California State University, Long Beach)
“Progesterone signaling regulating female reproduction is mediated by progesterone receptor, Src kinase and Dopamine receptor (D1) interactions.”
Mentor: Kevin Sinchak, Biological Sciences

Selina Gonzales (Biology, California State University, San Marcos)
“Hair cortisol during pregnancy, homeostatic dysregulation and risk for gestational diabetes.”
Mentor: Kimberly D’Anna-Hernandez, Psychology

Stacy Guzman (Biochemistry, California State University, Fullerton)
“Elucidating the Effects of Novel Small Molecules on the Wnt/β-catenin Pathway.”
Mentor: Peter de Lijser, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Kathryn Johnston (Biochemistry, California State University, Bakersfield)
“Cell Viability Studies of Breast Cancer Cells Using Lysyl Oxidase Inhibitors.”
Mentor: Karlo Lopez, Chemistry and Biochemistry

Elyssa Lawrence (Mechanical Engineering, California State University, Long Beach)
“Orthopedic Implant Behavior in Osteoporotic Bones Under
Mentor: Daniel Whisler, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Maizie Lee (Chemistry, California State University, Fresno)
Award: $3,500 for the proposal titled “Curcumin-quercetin hybrid molecules as potential chemotherapeutics for triple negative breast cancer.”
Mentor: Qiao-Hong Chen, Chemistry

Nicole Lukasko (Microbiology, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)
“Investigation of Antimicrobial Compounds in Umbellularia californica extracts.”
Mentor: Alejandra Yep, Biological Sciences

Addie Norgaard (Biochemistry, California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo)
“The Effect of Glucuronated Hormonal Contraceptives on Glucuronidase Activity and Uropathogenicity in Escherichia coli.”
Mentor: Christopher Kitts, Biological Sciences

Javier Rodriguez (Aerospace Engineering, California State University, Long Beach)
“Electromyographic suit to assess hormone replacement
therapy/high-impact physical exercise on skeletal muscles in post-menopausal women.”
Mentor: Emel Demircan, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Bobby Teng (Biology, California State University, Northridge)
Award: $3,500 for the proposal titled “Role of Interleukin-6 expression in Maternal gut bacteria and the alternation of mouse offspring brain development.”
Mentor: Lisa Banner, Biology

Grace Yomogida (Biology and Physiology, California State University, Long Beach)
“Structural and Functional Analysis of Myeloperoxidaseoxidized
Apolipoprotein E3.”
Mentor: Vasanthy Narayanaswami, Chemistry and Biochemistry

About the Doris A. Howell Foundation: 

The Doris A. Howell Foundation for Women’s Health Research is dedicated to keeping to women we love healthy by making a long-term, positive impact on women’s health.  It is the premier organization advancing women’s health. 

The organization does so by funding scholarships to students researching issues affecting women’s health; providing a forum for medical experts, scientists, doctors, and researchers to convey timely information on topics relevant to women’s health, and by funding research initiatives that improve the health of under-served women and increase awareness and advocacy in the community; bringing women’s health research to a full cycle. 


CSUPERB develops a professional biotechnology workforce by mobilizing and supporting collaborative CSU student and faculty research, innovating educational practices, and partnering with the life science industry.  

The organization provides seed grant funding, organizes an annual biotechnology symposium, sponsors industry-responsive curriculum, and serves as a liaison for the CSU with government, philanthropic, educational, and biotechnology industry partners. The program involves students and faculty from Life, Physical, Computer and Clinical Science, Engineering, Agriculture, Math and Business departments at all 23 CSU campuses.​


Print Friendly, PDF & Email